# Falkland Islands (Malvinas)\*

#### **Basic facts**

**Population**: 2,500 **Land area**: 12,173 km<sup>2</sup>

### Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

The Falkland Islands (Malvinas) has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the transmission by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of information under Article 73 *e* of the Charter of the United Nations.\*\* *See:* General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

# Administering Power

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

# United Nations-related action

The General Assembly's subsidiary organ, the Special Committee on Decolonization (a.k.a. C-24), has been considering the question of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) since 1964. Following the C-24's recommendation, in 1965, the General Assembly adopted resolution 2065 (XX).

The C-24 adopts on an annual basis a resolution devoted to the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

See: C-24 resolution of 25 June 2015 (<u>A/70/23</u>, para. 139)

Most recent United Nations Secretariat annual Working Paper on the Falkland Islands (Malvinas): <u>A/AC.109/2015/19</u>

<sup>\*</sup> A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

<sup>\*\*</sup> At the 25th meeting of the Fourth Committee in the 1<sup>st</sup> session of the General Assembly, held on 6 December 1946, the delegation of Argentina made a reservation to the effect that the Argentine Government did not recognize British sovereignty in the Falkland Islands (Malvinas). The delegation of the United Kingdom made a parallel reservation, not recognizing Argentine sovereignty in these islands.